Step 1: Start a blog

My first post to begin my navigation through the brave new world of the 21st Century educator. This year I set a professional goal to learn about new technology because, and I am somewhat ashamed to admit it, I am way behind the times. This year I have joined Twitter, learnt to use a Samsung tablet and an iPad, played with apps, been overwhelmed by said apps, started a blog, started a Weebly website as a project (with a tech savvy student), used Prezi, mastered PowerPoint, joined up to countless online sites and activities and even mastered the selfie!!! To be honest, I am proud of myself and happy my goal was open enough to achieve relatively easily. However, through all of this investigation and playing I found my anxiety levels rising. I felt the more I learned, the less I knew.

What to do?

Start a blog of course!

This blog is designed to keep track of my learning over the next year. My new goal is to blog about my professional and personal development as an educator today. My school is focused on making significant changes to the way we approach the curriculum and I am excited about it. I want to keep track of my part in that. While I am part of the Academic Team at my school, in no way way do I feel like an expert, sometimes I question my experience! Longevity as a teacher (17 year career and counting) does not necessarily amount to expertise. I don’t want to sell myself short, nor undermine my skills, but I see myself as student too. I believe all teachers need to be learners first and foremost. How can we teach otherwise?

In the interests of professional learning, I want to discuss, analyse, evaluate and reflect on my investigations, experimentations and navigations.

Step 1 is now complete.

About Tamara Powell

I'm a teacher embarking on the new role of Deputy Principal in 2015 at an independent, co-educational school. I am a full-time working mum of two. I love learning, I love reading and I love seeing my peers and my students engaged and inspired.
This entry was posted in Professional development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

